Available Indexes

2016 Board of Governors Elections Announced

July 25, 2016

HathiTrust Digital Library today announces its 2016 Board of Governors election cycle.  Beginning today the Nominating Committee will receive nominations for an election to be held in the fall.  Nominations are due no later than August 15.  

Official notice of the 2016 Election Process, which includes detailed instructions for nominations and requirements of nominees, can be found at https://www.hathitrust.org/board-of-governors-elections-2016.   

The Board of Governors has ultimate responsibility for HathiTrust's activities, functions, finances, and operations.  It includes six at-large members elected by the membership for three year terms, and six members appointed by the founding institutions.  The Executive Director and PSC Chair serves ex officio. To be selected to be part of the final ballot, nominees should have a record of significant administrative responsibility, have demonstrated leadership within the community, and currently serve as the official member representative of a HathiTrust member institution.  Members of the current Nominating Committee are not eligible for election.  A list of current HathiTrust member representatives who are eligible for nomination can be found online here.

Four seats will be filled in the election:

  • Two seats with terms running from January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2019.  These seats are currently held by Richard Clement, University of New Mexico and Beth McNeil, Iowa State University.

  • One seat with a term running from April 1, 2018 to December 31, 2018.  This election is necessary because of Anne Kenney’s planned retirement from Cornell University.

  • One seat with a term running from January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017. This election is necessary because of Robert Wolven’s retirement from Columbia University.

Nominations may be made by any individual affiliated with a HathiTrust member institution.  Self-nominations are permitted.  

2016 Nominating Committee

Richard Clement, University of New Mexico (Chair)

Carol Mandel, New York University

Sarah Michalak, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill

Brian Schottlaender, University of California, San Diego

Peggy Seiden, Swarthmore College

For further information contact Melissa Stewart (mmstewa@hathitrust.org).