Available Indexes

Board of Governors Elections 2018

HathiTrust's Board of Governors has ultimate responsibility for HathiTrust's activities, functions, finances, and operations.  It includes six at-large members elected by the membership and six members appointed by the founding institutions. Elected members serve three year terms.  Information about the Board of Governors, its membership, and its responsibilities may be found at https://www.hathitrust.org/board_of_governors.


  • Nominations will be accepted beginning July 23 and no later than August 13.
  • Nominees must submit all required information by August 17.
  • The nominees will be reviewed and the ballot finalized between August 21 and August 30.
  • Elections will open on September 4 and conclude on September 24.

Open Seats

Three seats will be filled in the 2018 election:

  • Two seats with terms running from January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2021.  These seats are currently held by Winston Tabb (elected in 2015 to a three year term) and Beth McNeil, Iowa State University (elected in 2016 to a one and three-fourths year term, completing the term of Anne Kenney who retired from Cornell University in 2017).
  • One seat with a term running from January 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019.  This election is necessary because of Sarah Thomas's planned retirement from Harvard University.

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee solicits and reviews nominations from the membership and presents these to the Board of Governors, which finalizes the ballot. The Nominating Committee will receive nominations from the membership from July 23 to August 13, 2018.

The members of the 2018 Nominating Committee are:

  • Wendy Lougee, University of Minnesota (Chair)
  • Trevor Dawes, University of Delaware
  • Terri Fishel, Macalester College
  • Damon Jaggars, The Ohio State University
  • Diane Walker, University of Notre Dame


To be selected to be part of the final ballot, nominees should have a record of significant administrative responsibility, have demonstrated leadership within the community, and currently serve as the official member representative of a HathiTrust member institution.  Board members should expect to continue in that role for the duration of their term on the Board. 

Representatives of founding members (the University of California, the University of Michigan, Indiana University, and the members of the Big Ten Academic Alliance) are not eligible for election because these schools appoint members to the Board.

Submitting a Nomination

Nominations may be made by any individual affiliated with a HathiTrust member institution.  Self-nominations are permitted.

If you are nominating someone other than yourself, please confirm that they will agree to run if they are selected for the final ballot.  Nominations should be sent to Melissa Stewart at mmstewa@hathitrust.org no later than August 13, 2018.

Nominations must include:

  • Name, Library, Title, Phone, and E-mail of nominee
  • Name, Library, Title, Phone, and E-mail of nominator
  • A brief statement describing the nominee's qualifications

Individuals who nominate themselves are asked to submit the additional information described below.

Directions for Nominees

As nominations are submitted, the Nominating Committee will request the following additional information from nominees.

  • CV of nominee
  • Photo of nominee
  • A narrative statement (250 words or less) describing:
    • Qualifications of nominee
    • Experience in any or all of the following areas: fiduciary and management roles, strategic planning, vision-building, decision-making, conflict resolution, communication
    • Interest in serving on the board
    • One or two future issues that the Board should address & how the nominee would approach these issues
    • The nominee’s perception of the Board of Governor’s role in leading and guiding the HathiTrust general body

Nominees should submit the above to Melissa Stewart mmstewa@hathitrust.org by August 17, 2018.


The 2018 Board of Governors election will run from September 4 through September 24, 2018.   An electronic ballot will be sent to official member representatives for their vote.  The candidates with the two highest weighted vote totals will be appointed to three-year terms.  The candidate with the third highest weighted vote total will be appointed to a one-year term and will be eligible to stand for election again in 2019.

Votes will be calculated following the weighted voting model in use since the 2011 Constitutional Convention:

  • Votes are weighted by calculating the square root of the volumes contributed and dollars spent.
  • Minimum vote weights will be rounded up to a value of one (1) so that no institution has a vote with a weight of less than one.*

Voting weights for the 2018 election will be calculated using data current as of August 31, 2018.


Questions about the process or qualifications may be directed to Melissa Stewart at mmstewa@hathitrust.org.

More information about the weighted voting model can be found here: https://www.hathitrust.org/explanation-of-weighted-voting