Available Indexes

Federal Documents Advisory Committee


The HathiTrust Federal Documents Advisory Committee (FDAC) is a standing committee of the HathiTrust membership, charged with making key recommendations to the Federal Documents & Collections Program Officer and to the Program Steering Committee (PSC) regarding policies and procedures necessary to implement and sustain a HathiTrust U.S. Federal Documents Program for the benefit of the membership. The Federal Documents Advisory Committee will coordinate as appropriate with other HathiTrust groups.

The Committee will be led by the Program Officer, and is responsible for advising her and making recommendations in the following areas, building on current Program plans.

Collection development:

  • Federal documents digitization and ingest into HathiTrust
  • Collaborative digitization of federal documents and digital content contributions
  • New internal or external opportunities to realize the potential of the collective HathiTrust investment in a comprehensive federal documents collection
  • Potential for new federal document formats (born-digital, digitized from microformats, etc.) in HathiTrust

Discovery and access:

  • Methods and operations to characterize, improve, and enhance the quality of federal documents metadata and the HathiTrust digital corpus
  • Impact of emerging HathiTrust metadata policies on the HathiTrust federal documents collection
  • Review of access policies for federal documents as needed

Communications and outreach:

  • Communications and outreach to connect with, engage, and enlist the support of multiple constituencies, especially within the HathiTrust membership, and including HathiTrust library leadership and documents specialists
  • Partnerships, advocacy, and engagement with the Government Publishing Office, publishing agencies, and national and other governmental libraries

The following are examples of work that the committee will take up in the near-term:

  • Advise the program officer on strategies and methods for collaborative federal documents serials metadata improvement.
  • Revisit and refresh the collection development priorities stated in the HathiTrust Federal Documents Collection Framework, and contribute to the design of collaborative “gap filling” and collection development projects.
  • Advise the program officer on strategies and methods for promoting awareness and use of our HathiTrust federal documents collection.


The Federal Documents Advisory Committee will consist of at least 6 members appointed in staggered term-length cohorts of individuals -- from member institutions and/or specific individuals that are engaged in significant federal documents collections or initiatives-- and will include 1 liaison to the PSC. The committee’s membership may include AULs or department heads for collections or services, Depository Librarians, and Data Services librarians.

The FDAC is expected to meet monthly or occasionally more or less often by conference call or web meeting. A limited number of in-person meetings may be scheduled, usually in conjunction with library conferences or HathiTrust member meetings.

Appointments may be for one or two years in order to stagger terms. The term for the committee will be November 2019 through June 2021. After this, FDAC and the PSC will review the purpose, charge, and membership of the committee.

July 2021 Update: As planned, PSC reviewed the purpose, charge, and membership of the committee. Due to the pandemic and other factors, it was decided that the group will continue in the current form through June 2022.

Current members:

  • Heather Christenson, Program Officer, HathiTrust, Chair
  • Cheryle Cole-Bennett, Project Coordinator, ASERL
  • Rebecca Crist, Project Manager Library Initiatives, BTAA
  • Valerie Glenn, Head, Map and Government Information Library, University of Georgia Libraries
  • Cass Hartnett, Documents Librarian, University of Washington
  • Karen Hoganboom, Head of Scholarly Communications, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Alicia Kubas, Government Publications and Data Librarian; Regional Depository Coordinator, University of Minnesota
  • Catherine Morse, Government Information, Law and Political Science Librarian, University of Michigan
  • Jesse Silva, Scholarly Resources Strategy Librarian, University of California, Berkeley
  • Sinai Wood, Associate Professor & Documents Librarian, Baylor University

Members who have concluded their terms:

  • Marie Concannon, Head, Government Information and Data Archives Research & Information Services Division, University of Missouri
  • Laura Sare, Associate Professor, Texas A & M

Previous charge and membership (August 2016 - September 2019)