HTRC Governance

Executive Management Team

The HathiTrust Research Center is led by an Executive Management Team that includes:

  • J. Stephen Downie (Co-Director), Associate Dean for Research & Professor, School of Information Sciences, University of Illinois
  • John Walsh (Co-Director), Associate Professor of Information and Library Science, School of Informatics, Computing, and Engineering, Indiana University
  • Robert McDonald, Associate Dean for Research and Technology Strategies & Librarian, Indiana University
  • Harriett Green, Head of Scholarly Communications and Publishing & Associate Professor, University of Illinois Library
  • John Unsworth, University Librarian & Dean of Libraries, University of Virginia
  • Yu Ma, Dev. Ops. Manager, HTRC & Director of Information Technology, Data to Insight Center, School of Informatics, Computing, and Engineering, Indiana University
  • Eleanor Dickson, HTRC Digital Humanities Specialist, University of Illinois Library

The Executive Management Team reports to the HathiTrust Board of Governors. Mike Furlough, Executive Director of HathiTrust, is the official liason between the boards.

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board, composed of a broad-based set of researchers and administrators, has been selected to provide guidance and advise to the HathiTrust Research Center. Members include:

  • Wolfram Horstmann, University Librarian, Göttingen Library & Project Lead, TextGrid
  • Nancy Ide, Professor, Computer Science, Vassar College
  • Allan Lu, Vice President of Research Tools, Services and Platforms, ProQuest
  • Greg Raschke (HathiTrust Program Steering Committee Representative), Associate Director for Collections and Scholarly Communication, North Carolina State University
  • Matthew Sag, Professor of Law, Loyola University Chicago
  • Stefan Sinclair, Associate Professor, Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures, McGill University & Project Lead, Voyant Tools
  • Claire Stewart, Associate University Librarian for Research and Learning, University of Minnesota
  • Craig Stewart, Executive Director, Pervasive Technology Institute, Indiana University
  • John Towns, Executive Director for Science and Technology, National Center for Supercomputing Applications
  • Jennifer Vinopal, Librarian for Digital Scholarship Initiatives, New York University