As codified in the HathiTrust Bylaws, the Board of Governors has strategic and fiduciary responsibility for the development, programs, and sustainability of the organization. The Board positions the organization to advance the goals and interests of member institutions and the cultural heritage and higher learning sectors.  Through the appointed Executive Director of HathiTrust, the Board is accountable for effective operations and membership engagement in the directions of the Trust.

The Board is responsible for the management of the property, affairs, business, and activities of HathiTrust, consistent with the rules and policies of the University of Michigan as interpreted by its General Counsel.

The Board of Governors bears final responsibility for the activities, functions, and operations for HathiTrust, as well as for the long-term integrity and accessibility of deposited materials. This responsibility includes:


  1. Defining HathiTrust’s mission, goals, and objectives and helping guide their fulfillment.
  2. Ensuring the alignment of HathiTrust’s mission, goals, and objectives with those of its member institutions.
  3. Maintaining written Bylaws.
  4. Communicating about HathiTrust—including its value, activities, plans, and strategic initiatives—to members, potential members, and other relevant communities.
  5. Demonstrating leadership among member institutions and in the cultural heritage and higher learning sectors in community-wide efforts to ensure the long-term preservation and availability of the scholarly record.


  1. Electing four officers of a five-member Executive Committee, empowered to act on behalf of the Board.
  2. Reviewing the formulae for determining appointed seats and weighted voting.


  1. Overseeing HathiTrust operations through the selection of a Chief Executive Officer (Executive Director).
  2. Working with the Executive Director to set the strategic directions for HathiTrust and oversee operations.
  3. Framing and overseeing the management of HathiTrust’s budget and finances.
  4. Approving for distribution to the Membership the budget developed by the Executive Director. While the Board of Governors shall not alter the total amount of the dues, fees, or other charges to be levied against the Members without their approval, it is empowered to adjust the detail of the budget approved by the Members.
  5. Evaluating the performance of the Executive Director.
  6. In coordination with the Executive Director, creating committees and working groups to carry out HathiTrust’s work and to develop strategies and priorities.
  7. Reviewing recommendations of the Program Steering Committee and making final decisions regarding policy, repository development, and planning initiatives.
  8. Overseeing the development, implementation, and ongoing management of the HathiTrust Research Center and other officially affiliated projects.

Full details about the Board’s duties, powers, and processes can be found in the Bylaws.


The Board of Governors is composed of 12 members. Six of these seats are filled by the Founding Members: The University of California System (2 seats); Indiana University (1 seat); University of Michigan (1 seat); and the remaining founding institutions of the Big Ten Academic Alliance (University of Chicago, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, University of Iowa, Michigan State University, University of Minnesota, Northwestern University, Ohio State University, Pennsylvania State University, Purdue University and University of Wisconsin-Madison) (2 seats); Indiana University (1 seat). Six seats are to be filled through elections of the voting members of HathiTrust. Individuals from Founding Member institutions may not be on the ballot for rotating seats. In addition to the 12 elected and appointed members, the Chief Executive Officer and the Program Steering Committee Chair serve as non-voting members of the Board of Governors.

Lengths of Terms

Candidates are elected for three-year terms. Should a Board member leave his or her administrative post (e.g., retire as a university librarian), the Board of Governors will appoint a replacement to serve until the next annual election when a successor for the unexpired term shall be nominated and elected by the Members. An elected member appointed to serve as an officer on the Executive Committee will continue to serve as a member of the Board until the expiration of the officer’s term despite the fact the individual’s normal, three-year term as member of the Board of Governors may have expired. Each election cycle outlines current processes and criteria.

Current Membership

  • Gohar Ashoughian, Wilfrid Laurier University (2023-2025)
  • Theresa Byrd, University of San Diego (2022-2024)
  • Lisa Carter, University of Michigan (appointed)
  • Diane Dallis-Comentale, Indiana University (appointed)
  • Ping Fu, Whitman College (2024-2026)
  • Mike Furlough (HathiTrust), ex officio
  • Damon Jaggars, The Ohio State University (appointed)
  • Holly Jeffcoat, Southern Methodist University (2024-2026)
  • Steven Mandeville-Gamble, University of California, Riverside (appointed)
  • Beth Namachchivaya, University of Waterloo (2022-2025)
  • Denise Pan, University of Washington, ex officio, Program Steering Committee Chair
  • Claire Stewart, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (appointed)
  • Günter Waibel, California Digital Library (appointed)
  • Xuemao Wang, Northwestern University (2022-2024)
Members of Executive Committee (2024)
  • Beth Namachchivaya (Chair)
  • Diane Dallis-Comentale (Chair-elect)
  • Claire Stewart (Past Chair)
  • Denise Pan (Chair of Program Steering Committee), ex officio
  • Mike Furlough (HathiTrust), ex officio


Contact our member-led user support team!