Welcome New 2024 Program Steering Committee Members and Chair

May 16, 2024

We are happy to announce that the Board of Governors recently approved the appointment of three members to serve on the Program Steering Committee (PSC) for three years, beginning July 2024. They also approved the appointment of a new chair, Rice Majors from the University of California, Davis.    

The HathiTrust Program Steering Committee advises the Board of Governors, offers a member perspective, and helps shape initiatives and strategies for Board discussion and decision-making. The PSC also initiates advisory and working groups to support HathiTrust’s preservation and access mission, as well as initiatives under the new Strategic Vision.

Welcome to our newest members!


Miranda Bennett

Miranda Bennett
Director of Shared Collections
California Digital Library (HathiTrust member since 2008)

“I am so pleased to join PSC at this exciting moment for HathiTrust, as its newly adopted Strategic Vision and Directions begins to guide its vital collaborative work in new ways, while reaffirming its steadfast commitment to the stewardship of its collection.”


Rice Majors

Rice Majors, Chair of HathiTrust Program Steering Committee
Associate University Librarian for Scholarly Resources
University of California, Davis (HathiTrust member since 2008)

The selection committee recognized Rice’s strengths, noting his three-year term on the Program Steering Committee (2020-2023), where he served as liaison to both the Digital Collection Strategy Working Group and the Shared Print Advisory Committee. Rice says, “I have seen firsthand how these groups can best function. My goal is to ensure that the scope and workload of the PSC is appropriate and manageable, and that we are acting in support of implementing the new Strategic Vision.”


Carla Myers

Carla Myers
Coordinator of Scholarly Communications, Interim Head of the Create & Innovate Department
Miami University (HathiTrust member since 2023)

“My experience in a variety of scholarly communications initiatives will serve PSC in unique ways. I’m eager to help promote the positive impact HathiTrust has on connecting individuals with resources and promoting the creation of new scholarship.”


Nina Servizzi

Nina Serrvizzi
Associate Dean, Knowledge Access and Resource Management Services
New York University (HathiTrust member since 2023)

“I am strongly committed to advancing HathiTrust’s mission and strategic objectives. In the work that lies ahead, I will promote ethical and forward-thinking strategies in the areas of metadata enhancement, systems interoperability optimization, discovery improvement, and the application of advanced computing techniques.”


HathiTrust thanks departing PSC members:

Dracine Hodges, Associate University Librarian for Technical Services, Duke University (2021-2024)
Nathan Mealey, Associate University Librarian for Discovery & Access, Wesleyan University (2021-2024)
Catherine Mitchell, Director, Publishing, Archives, and Digitization, California Digital Library (2021-2024)

We extend a special thank you to Denise Pan, Senior Associate Dean for Collections and Strategic Partnerships, University of Washington, for her service as Chair. (2020-2022; Chair 2022-2024)

Members Continuing:

Mohammad AlHamd, Director of Resource Management and Discovery, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi (2022-2025)
Emy Decker, Associate Dean for Research Services and Information Technology, The University of Alabama (2022-2025)
Marion Frank-Wilson, Indiana University (2023-2026)
Alison Hitchens, Associate University Librarian for Collections, Technology, and Scholarly Communication, University of Waterloo (2022-2025)
Salwa Ismail, University of California, Berkeley (2023-2026)
Nerea Llamas, AUL for Collections Strategy and Content, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (2022-2025)
Mark Paris, Brandeis University (2023-2026)
Erin Stalberg, Associate Director for Collections, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2022-2025)