2023 Annual Meeting

HathiTrust will host the annual member meeting as a virtual event. 

2023 Member Meeting: Focus on HathiTrust’s Future 

The past year, HathiTrust and our partners at  Athenaeum 21, have engaged with you and your peers across our community of academic and research libraries, cultural institutions, and higher education, to explore the possibilities for HathiTrust’s future. Our annual gathering will focus on furthering this inquiry through dynamic and interactive engagement with attendees representing our increasingly varied membership body. Hear about the hot topics and tensions that have arisen during A21’s discovery workshops and the dozens of interviews they’ve conducted thus far. As they continue to bring together data and viewpoints into a final strategic vision to guide us beyond our 15th year, contribute your own thoughts and ideas on HathiTrust’s brightest future. 

Who Should Attend? 

The meeting is open to anyone affiliated with a member library. We encourage attendance from the HathiTrust member representative, library director, or dean, though the meeting is open to anyone affiliated with a member library. We encourage all members to pass along the meeting and registration information to their teams and colleagues. There is no maximum number of those who may attend from one institution. 

Member Meeting Date and Time
Thursday, October 26, 2023
12:00 PM EDT/9:00 AM PDT – 2:00 PM EDT/ 11:00 AM PDT

Registration was sent via email.

Meeting Agenda

12:15 PM (EDT)      HathiTrust Director Remarks

  • Jennifer Vinopal, Associate Director
  • Mike Furlough, Executive Director

12:30 PM (EDT)      A21 Brief Overview

  • Megan Hurst, Co-Founder + Chief Experience Officer
  • Christine Madsen, Co-Founder + Chief Innovation Officer

1:00  PM (EDT)      Break (5 minutes)

1:05 PM  (EDT)     Member Meeting Attendee Strategic Visioning Polls and Visioning Task Force Panel Discusses Poll Results

  • Daniel Dollar, Yale University
  • Dracine Hodges, Duke University
  • Anne Houston, Swarthmore College 
  • Nathan Mealey, Wesleyan University
  • Bethany Nowviskie, James Madison University

1:50 PM (EDT)      Thank You

  • Mike Furlough, Executive Director

1:55 PM (EDT)     Closing Remarks

  • Beth Namachchivaya, Chair-Elect, HathiTrust Board of Governors