Development and stewardship of the HathiTrust collection is part of the core mission of HathiTrust’s collaborative agenda since its inception. In 2019, the Program Steering Committee charged the Digital Collection Strategy Working Group to advance the strategic work of the Program Steering Committee and HathiTrust’s operations around the digital collection.

This member-driven group will emphasize the importance of ongoing strategic focus on collection development as outlined in HathiTrust’s 2019-2023 Strategic Directions. The plan states the need to “include many voices and perspectives in our collections” and enhance its quality, deepening the library “by a targeted, intentional strategy for new and retrospective publications” and by developing “new analytic capacities” for, among other uses, collection development.

Chair: Wade Wyckoff, McMaster University


Miranda Bennett, California Digital Library (2020-2023)
Heather Christenson, HathiTrust
Joanna Di Pasquale, Union College (2020-2023)
Emily Gore, University of Tennessee, Knoxville (2022-2024)
Greta Heng, San Diego State University (2022-2024)
Salwa Ismail, University of California, Berkeley (2020-2022)
Rice Majors, University of California, Davis (2022-2023) (PSC Liaison)
Danielle Robichaud, University of Waterloo (2022-2024)
Fred Roscoe, Georgia Tech (2020-2022)
Jason Roy, University of Minnesota (2022-2024)
Michael Williams, Cambridge University (2022-2023)
Wade Wyckoff, McMaster University, Chair

Charge: Digital Collection Strategy Working Group

Final Report: Digital Collection Strategy Working Group 

HathiTrust Digital Collection Principles